NICHD Scholars Workshop

November 13–14, 2014


Office of Health Equity (OHE), Office of the Director (OD), NICHD; National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIHMD); National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)


November 13, 2014

8:00 a.m. Registration and Check In
8:30 a.m. Welcome and Introductions
Reiko Toyama
Office of Health Equity (OHE), NICHD
8:25 a.m. Meeting Charge
Regina James
9:00 a.m. Research Proposal Writing Part 1
The Rhetoric of the Grant Proposal (PDF - 405 KB)
Electronic Grant Submission: NSF Fastlane & (PDF - 1 MB)
Mary Farwell
East Carolina University and Council on Undergraduate Research
12:00 p.m. Lunch
1:00 p.m. Research Proposal Writing Part 2
Developing Grantsmanship Skills (PDF - 196 KB)
How to Critique a Proposal (PDF - 116 KB)
Mary Farwell
East Carolina University and Council on Undergraduate Research
4:00 p.m. Clinical Center Tour
Tara Mowery
Office of Communication and Public Liaison, Office of the Director, NIH
6:00 p.m. Working Dinner
8:00 p.m. Adjourn

November 14, 2014

8:00 a.m. Registration and Poster Setup
8:30 a.m. Funding Opportunities for Young Investigators (Career Development Awards [Ks] and Fellowships [Fs]) (PDF - 756 KB)
Dennis Twombly
Office of Extramural Policy, NICHD
9:00 a.m. Loan Repayment Program (PDF - 615 KB)
Jennifer Alvidrez
Office of Research Innovation and Program Coordination (ORIPC), Division of Scientific Programs (DSP), NIMHD
9:30 a.m. NIH Peer Review (PDF - 1 MB)
Jayalakshmi Raman
Scientific Review Branch, NIDCR
10:00 a.m. Working Break
10:15 a.m. Intramural Opportunities
  • Roland Owens (PDF - 1 MB)
    Office of Intramural Research, Office of the Director, NIH

  • Yvette Pittman (PDF - 642 KB)
    Office of the Scientific Director, Division of Intramural Research (DIR), NICHD
11:15 a.m. Q & A with Intramural Scientists
  • Anirban Banerjee
    Unit on Structural and Chemical Biology of Membrane Proteins, DIR, NICHD

  • Mary Dasso
    Section on Cell Cycle Regulation, DIR, NICHD

  • Dan Sackett
    Section on Cell Biophysics, DIR, NICHD
12:00 p.m. Working Lunch
Stuart Washington
Georgetown University Medical Center
1:00 p.m. Poster Session
2:00 p.m. Break Out Sessions
Discussions leaders:
  • Layla Esposito
    Child Development and Behavior Branch, Division of Extramural Research (DER), NICHD

  • Susan Newcomer
    Population Dynamics Branch, DER, NICHD

  • Tina Urv
    Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Branch, DER, NICHD

  • Jennifer Alvidrez

  • Lynn King
    Research Training and Career Development Branch, NIDCR
3:30 p.m. Closing Remarks
Catherine Spong
Deputy Director, NICHD
4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Return to NICHD Scholars Workshop main page.

top of pageBACK TO TOP