Appendix F: Surgeon General’s Listening Session on Health Disparities & Mental Retardation

The content in this publication was accurate at the time it was published, but it is not being updated. The item is provided for historical purposes only.​

October 10, 2001

* Due to technical difficulties, the speakers at the Massachusetts site were unable to participate at the time of the actual Listening Session. However, their recorded remarks have been added to the archived videocast of the session and are part of the official record. The entire Listening Session can be viewed at the following site:


Welcome and Opening Comments

Surgeon General David Satcher, M.D.,    Ph.D., U.S. Department of Health and    Human Services
Duane Alexander, M.D., Director,
   National Institute of Child Health
   and Human Development,
   National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Ms. Loretta Claiborne, Self-Advocate

Participating Sites

Civitan International Research Center, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Judy Barclay
Matthew Foster
Alvin Garvin
Wendy Hardy
Elouise Woods
Patsy Wright

Oregon Institute on Disability & Development, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, Oregon

Judy Cunio
Michael Geheb
Trent Minor
Julie Quaid
Sidney Stuller
Sharon Turner
Judy Wiley


Panel Moderators, NIH Site

Elin Cortijo-Doval, M.Ed.
George Jesien, Ph.D.
Deborah Spitalnik, Ph.D.
Sheryl White-Scott, M.D.

Eunice Kennedy Shriver Center, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, Massachusetts*

Ana Arango
Sandy Blanes
Billie Chan
David Coulter
Kim Daniels
Yvette Johnson
Ann Ligums
John Morgan
Reginald Raphael
Cindy Smith
Charlotte Spinkston
Bersford Wilson

Waisman Center, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin

Cindy Bentley
Barbara Katz
Lynne Schauls
Bill Schwab
Nancy Shook
Jayn Wittenmyer

National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland

Sally Atwater
Sue Badeau
Renee Bedieux
Robert Bergner
Susan Clark
Jose Cordero
Roxanne Dryden-Edwards
Jackie Golden
Julie Hacker-Yannes
Katrina Johnson
Wanda Jones
Guy Leif
Maureen Mitchell
Liz Oppenheimer
Victor Robinson
Jamie Rutman
Tim Shriver
Irvin Silverman
Ginny Thornburgh

first | previous

top of pageBACK TO TOP