Skip Navigation
  Print Page

Appendix B: Participants List

Skip sharing on social media links
Share this:

Surgeon General's Conference on Health Disparities and Mental Retardation

December 5-6, 2001
Georgetown University Conference Center, Washington, DC

Curtis Decker, J.D.

Executive Director
National Association of Protection and Advocacy Systems
900 Second Street, N.E., Suite 211
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 202-408-9514
Fax: 202-408-9520
Email: curt@napas.org

Mark S. Diorio, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Facility Director
Northern Virginia Training Center
9901 Braddock Road
Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone: 703-323-4002
Fax: 703-323-4252
Email: mdiorio@nvtc.state.va.us

Ann Drum, D.D.S., M.P.H.

Director, Division of Research, Training and Education
Maternal and Child Health Bureau
Health Resources and Services Administration
Parklawn Building, Room 18A-55
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: 301-443-0761
Fax: 301-443-4842
Email: adrum@hrsa.gov

Charles Drum, J.D., Ph.D.

Director
Oregon Institute on Disability and Development
Child Development and Rehabilitation Center
Oregon Health Sciences University
P.O. Box 574
Portland, OR 97207
Phone: 503-494-8047
Fax: 503-494-6868
Email: drumc@ohsu.edu

Roxanne Dryden-Edwards, M.D.

Medical Director
National Center for Children and Families
6301 Greentree Road
Bethesda, MD 20817
Phone: 301-365-4480
Fax: 301-365-2536
Email: redwards@nccf-cares.org

Susan Dyer

Research Coordinator
Shriver Center University Affiliated Program
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Eunice Kennedy Shriver Center, Room C116A
200 Trapelo Road
Waltham, MA 02452
Phone: 781-642-0261
Fax: 781-642-0162
Email: susan.dyer@umassmed.edu

Steven M. Eidelman

Executive Director
The Arc of the United States
1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 650
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: 301-565-5469
Fax: 301-565-3843
Email: eidelman@thearc.org

Barry Eigen

Executive Program Policy Officer
Office of Disability
Office of the Associate Commissioner
Social Security Administration
Altmeyer Building, Room 560
6401 Security Boulevard
Baltimore, MD 21235
Phone: 410-965-2528
Fax: 410-965-6503
Email: barry.eigen@ssa.gov

Ann L. Elderkin, P.A.

Senior Health Policy Consultant
Office of the Surgeon General
Office of the Secretary of Health and Human Services
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Parklawn Building, Room 18-66
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: 301-443-0901
Fax: 301-443-1211
Email: aelderkin@osophs.dhhs.gov

Sanford J. Fenton, D.D.S., M.D.S.

Chair and ADA Representative
Department of Pediatric Dentistry and Community Oral Health
University of Tennessee College of Dentistry
Dunn Building, Room 5217
875 Union Avenue
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: 901-448-6206
Fax: 901-448-6249
Email: sfenton@utmem.edu

Michelle Fiorella, D.O.

Psychiatrist
9004 Harrods Landing Drive
Prospect, KY 40059
Mark Freeman, M.Ed., PA-C
Director, AAPA Representative
Physician Assistant Studies Program
Chatham College
Woodland Road
Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Phone: 412-365-1405
Fax: 412-365-1623
Email: freeman@chatham.edu

Michael J. Friedlander, Ph.D.

Chairman
Department of Neurobiology
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Building CIRC, Room 516
1719 Sixth Avenue South, MSC 0021
Birmingham, AL 35294
Phone: 205-934-0100
Fax: 205-975-7394
Email: mjf@nrc.uab.edu

George Gaines

Chief, Program and Public Liaison Office
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, Room 2A03
9000 Rockville Pike, MSC 2425
Bethesda, MD 20892-2425
Phone: 301-435-3447
Fax: 301-402-1104
Email: gainesg@mail.nih.gov

Isabel Garcia, D.D.S., M.P.H.

Special Assistant for Science Transfer
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
National Institutes of Health
Building 45, Room 4AS-19
45 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-594-7551
Fax: 301-496-9988
Email: isabel.garcia@nih.gov

Bob Gettings

Executive Director
National Association of State Directors of Developmental Disabilities Services
113 Oronoco Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: 703-683-4202
Fax: 703-684-1395
Email: rgettings@nasddds.org

Paul Glassman, D.D.S., M.A., M.B.A.

Associate Dean for Information Technology
Director of Advanced Education in General Dentistry Residency
Center for Oral Health for People with Special Needs
University of the Pacific School of Dentistry
2155 Webster Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone: 415-929-6490
Fax: 415-749-3399
Email: pglassman@uop.edu

Jackie Golden

Executive Director
Inclusion Research Institute
1436 Independence Avenue, S.E.
Washington, DC 20003-1536
Phone: 202-546-4464
Fax: 202-546-4465
Email: jlgolden@bellatlantic.net

Glenn Govin, D.D.S., M.P.H.

Director, DECOD and Lecturer
Department of Oral Medicine
University of Washington School of Dentistry
Health Sciences Center, Room B316, Box 356370
1959 Northeast Pacific Street
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone: 206-543-1546
Fax: 206-685-8412
Email: ggovin@u.washington.edu

Julie Hacker-Yannes

402 Longhorn Crescent
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: 240-683-9453
Email: jyannes@olg.com

Stanley D. Handmaker, M.D., D.Phil.

Professor of Pediatrics
Department of Pediatrics
Health Sciences Center
University of New Mexico School of Medicine
Ambulatory Care Center
3 West, Room 3221
Albuquerque, NM 87131-5311
Phone: 505-272-0344
Fax: 505-272-6845
Email: shandmaker@salud.unm.edu

Wendelyn C. Hardy

7420 Newstead Drive
Cumming, GA 30041
Phone: 770-667-0250
Email: tinkermau@aol.com

James C. Harris, M.D.

Director, Developmental Neuropsychiatry
Professor, Psychiatry/Pediatrics
Departments of Psychiatry and Pediatrics
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Johns Hopkins Hospital, Room CMSC 341
600 North Wolfe Street
Baltimore, MD 21210
Phone: 410-955-6181
Fax: 410-889-5623
Email: jamesharris@erols.com

Carmen Held

Executive Director
Denver Aurora Chapter
Children’s Mental Health
12485 East 13th Avenue
Aurora, CO 80011
Phone: 303-507-9863
Fax: 720-859-9367
Email: carheld@msn.com

Tamar Heller, Ph.D.

Professor and Interim Head
Department of Disability and Human Development
College of Applied Health Sciences
University of Illinois at Chicago
IIDD, Room 436
1640 West Roosevelt Road
Chicago, IL 60608-6904
Phone: 312-413-1537
Fax: 312-413-1630
Email: theller@uic.edu

Camille Hemlock, M.D.

Associate Medical Director, Mental Retardation/Developmental Disabilities
Office of the Medical Director
Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation
Central Office, Room 1-107E, MC 655
P.O. Box 12668
Austin, TX 78711-2668
Phone: 512-206-4840
Fax: 512-206-4589
Email: camille.hemlock@mhmr.state.tx.us

Monica D. Herring

Parent Advocate
11714 South Laurel Drive, Apt. 20
Laurel, MD 20708
Phone: 240-568-0777
Fax: 301-725-1761
Email: monicadh@msn.com

Dalice L. Hertzberg, M.S.N., FNP-C, CRRN

Instructor and Project Coordinator
Health Promotion Project
JFK Partners, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center
Building 401, Room 105
1784 Racine Drive
Campus MS F541, P.O. Box 6508
Aurora, CO 80045-0508
Phone: 303-724-0652
Fax: 303-724-0960
Email: dalice.hertzberg@uchsc.edu

Paula A. Hirt, M.S.

Director of Programs and Services
American Association on Mental Retardation
444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 846
Washington, DC 20001
Phone: 202-387-1968
Fax: 202-387-2193
Email: pahirt@aamr.org

Deborah Hirtz, M.D.

Program Director
Clinical Trials
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
National Institutes of Health
Neuroscience Center
6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 2212, MSC 9525
Bethesda, MD 20892-9525
Phone: 301-496-5821
Fax: 301-480-1080
Email: dh83f@nih.gov

Henry Hood, D.M.D.

Director, Dental Services Clinic
Hazelwood Center ICF/MR
Kentucky Department for Mental Health and Mental Retardation Services
1800 Bluegrass Avenue
Box 14506
Louisville, KY 40214-0506
Phone: 502-361-2301, 2366
Fax: 502-366-9779
Email: henry.hood@mail.state.ky.us

Gail Hunt

Executive Director
National Alliance for Caregiving
4720 Montgomery Lane, Suite 642
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: 301-718-8444
Fax: 301-652-7711
Email: gailhunt.nac@erols.com

Holly Janczak, M.A.

Director of the Community Living Program
Chairperson of the National Association of Qualified Mental Retardation Professionals
Trinity Servicers, Inc.
100 Gougar Road
Joliet, IL 60432
Phone: 815-485-4781
Fax: 815-485-9145
Email: trinityhj@aol.com

Matthew P. Janicki, Ph.D.

Director for Technical Assistance
Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Aging with Developmental Disabilities
University of Illinois at Chicago
University at Albany
Richardson Hall 280
Albany, NY 12222
Phone: 518-442-3791
Fax: 518-877-3357
Email: janickimp@aol.com

Jane Jasek, R.D.H., M.P.A.

Manager
Access and Community Health
American Dental Association
211 East Chicago Avenue
Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: 312-440-2868
Fax: 312-440-4640

George Jesien, Ph.D.

Executive Director
Association of University Centers on Disabilities
8630 Fenton Street, Suite 410
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: 301-588-8252
Fax: 301-588-2842
Email: gjesien@aucd.org

Robert S. Johns

Executive Director
National Dental Association
3517 16th Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20010
Phone: 202-588-1697
Fax: 202-588-1244
Email: rsjohns@ndaonline.org

Tracy B. Johnson
Southwest Center
860 West 50 South
Tropic, UT 84776
Phone: 435-679-8824
Fax: 435-679-8905
Email: moetracy@color-country.net

Lisa Kaeser, J.D.

Senior Program Analyst
Office of Program and Public Liaison
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, Room 2A-03
9000 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20892-2425
Phone: 301-496-0536
Fax: 301-402-1104
Email: kaeserl@mail.nih.gov

Theodore A. Kastner, M.D., M.S.

President
Developmental Disabilities Health Alliance, Inc.
1285 Broad Street
Bloomfield, NJ 07003
Phone: 973-338-4200
Fax: 973-338-4440
Email: tkastner@ddha.com

Cille Kennedy, Ph.D.

Operations Research Analyst
Office of Disability, Aging and Long-Term Care Policy
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Hubert H. Humphrey Building, Room 424E
200 Independence Avenue, S.W.
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-690-6443
Fax: 202-401-7733
Email: ckennedy@osaspe.dhhs.gov

Bonnie Kerker, M.P.H.

Department of Epidemiology and Public Health
Yale University
60 College Street, Room 310
New Haven, CT 06520
Phone: 203-785-2862
Fax: 203-785-6287
Email: bonnie.kerker@yale.edu

first | previous | next | last

Last Updated Date: 08/17/2006
Last Reviewed Date: 08/17/2006
Vision National Institutes of Health Home BOND National Institues of Health Home Home Storz Lab: Section on Environmental Gene Regulation Home Machner Lab: Unit on Microbial Pathogenesis Home Division of Intramural Population Health Research Home Bonifacino Lab: Section on Intracellular Protein Trafficking Home Lilly Lab: Section on Gamete Development Home Lippincott-Schwartz Lab: Section on Organelle Biology