Skip Navigation

NICHD Demographic & Behavioral Sciences Branch - Awards

Skip sharing on social media links

DBS Branch Grantee Receives John Bates Clark Medal

The DBS Branch is proud to recognize its grantee, Dr. Esther Duflo External Web Site Policy, who received the 2010 John Bates Clark Medal as the most promising U.S. economist younger than age 40 for her Branch-supported work in Development Economics. Her Women Empowerment and Child Health in Developing Countries grant, supported by the Branch since 2001, and other projects address issues of politics, gender, and education in developing countries.

Dr. Duflo is only the second woman to win the Clark Medal, which is often called the "Baby Nobel" because those who win the Clark often go on to win the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, also known as the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences. She also received a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship, or "genius" award, for her work in 2009.

The DBS Branch congratulates Dr. Duflo on her well-deserved recognition.

NICHD Grantees Elected to National Academy of Sciences

The DBS Branch is please to recognize a number of its grantees who were elected into the National Academy of Sciences.

Grantees elected in 2010 include:

  • Greg J. Duncan External Web Site Policy, Distinguished Professor of Education, Department of Education at the University of California, Irvine
  • Robert D. Mare External Web Site Policy, Distinguished Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology at the University of California, Los Angeles, and Founding Director of the California Center for Population Research
  • Emilio F. Moran External Web Site Policy, Rudy Professor of Anthropology, Department of Anthropology, and Director, Anthropological Center for Training and Research on Global Environmental Change, Indiana University, Bloomington
  • Mary C. Waters External Web Site Policy, M.E. Zuckerman Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology at Harvard University

In 2009, two Branch grantees were elected to the National Academy of Sciences:

  • Adrian Raftery External Web Site Policy, Blumstein-Jordan Professor of Statistics and Sociology and faculty affiliate for the Center for Statistics and the Social Sciences and the Center for Studies in Demography and Ecology at the University of Washington in Seattle; and
  • Yu Xie External Web Site Policy, Otis Dudley Duncan Distinguished University Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology, and affiliate of the Population Studies Center and the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.

The DBS Branch congratulates its grantees on this distinguished honor.

BOND National Institues of Health Home Home Division of Intramural Population Health Research